Under the laws of the State of Texas, you may be able to request that one traffic violation charge be dismissed upon satisfactory completion of a driving safety course. You must first obtain permission from the Court prior to taking a driving safety course.
Driving Safety Course Process
- You must make your request and payment within twenty (20) calendar days from the date your citation was issued or by your appearance date in person or by mail.
- You must enter a plea of Guilty or No Contest and complete a Driver Safety Course Application
- You must have a valid Texas Drivers License.
- You must have proof of financial responsibility (insurance).
- You cannot have taken a driving safety course for ticket dismissal within the past twelve (12) months prior to the date of your citation. You are required to sign a legal affidavit stating you are in compliance with this condition.
- You must pay $144.00 ($169.00 for school zone offenses), which includes state court costs and administrative fees. This amount is subject to change according to State law.
- You must submit proof of completing a Texas-approved driving safety course within 90 days from the date of payment.
- You must obtain and submit to the court a certified copy of your driving record.
- You must sign an affidavit stating you are in compliance with all eligibility requirements for DSC as set forth in the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Sec.45.051 (c)(3).
- You must return all required documentation to the Court within 90 days from the date of payment. See below for required documentation.
You are not eligible to request a Driving Safety Course if:
- You have been charged with speeding 25mph or more over the posted speed limit or traveling at a rate of speed greater than 95 mph.
- You are charged with violating any of the following sections of the Transportation Code (TRC) of the State of Texas:
- TRC Sec. 472.022 – Construction or maintenance work zone when worker are present
- TRC Sec. 545.066 – Passing a school bus
- TRC Sec. 545.401 – Reckless driving
- TRC Sec. 545.421 – Fleeing or attempting to elude Police Officers
- TRC Sec. 550.022 – Accident involving damage to a vehicle
- TRC Sec. 550.023 – Duty to give information and render aid
- TRC Sec. 522.003 – Serious traffic violations
- You hold a Commercial Drivers License (CDL) or held one at the time you were cited for the offense.
An original certificate of completion from a Texas-approved driving safety course is required within 90 days.
A certified copy (Record 3A) of your driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety in Austin is required within 90 days. Your driving record can be requested from https://txapps.texas.gov/tolapp/txldrcdr/TXDPSLicenseeManager
Driving Safety Course
The driving safety course must be approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) or the Department of Licensing and Regulation. A list of approved courses is available online here. Court personnel cannot recommend a driving safety course for you.
Failure to Comply
- If you fail to comply with the conditions and/or requirements, you will have to appear at a Show Cause Hearing before a Municipal Court Judge to explain why you have failed to comply.
- If you do not appear for the Show Cause Hearing, a Capias Pro Fine Warrant may be issued for your arrest, and a conviction of the offense charged will be on your record, plus additional fees may be accessed.